My Favourite Trilogy… and it’s not Star Wars.

14 Jun

The first time I saw Before Sunrise, I fell in love.  With the characters, with Linklater and with Vienna. I’m sure I was already in love with Ethan Hawke – who isn’t?

To this day, it still holds strong on my Top Five list – maybe even the number one spot. It’s spontaneous and romantic. Who wouldn’t want to be swept off their feet  in a beautiful country. It’s endearing and captivating. It made Linklater really stand out to me. It takes a lot to write a film that is essentially an hour and a half of conversation, not to mention conversation that feels real and believable.  After watching Before Sunrise, I went on to watch all of Linklater’s films. I was already well-schooled in Dazed and Confused, but I continued on with Slacker, SubUrbia (which I LOVE) and The Newton Boys. By then I was up to date, so saw his other films as they came out. I enjoyed most of them, but Before Sunrise was always my favourite. It’s the reason I want to go to Vienna. It’s high up there on my bucket list. I ALMOST went, but it was winter and I want to go in the spring out summer. We went to Lisbon instead.

So how excited was I when Before Sunset was announced?!

I am one of those people who doesn’t mind going to a movie by myself. Sometimes I prefer it. Every year since I got my driver’s license, I would take myself to a movie for my birthday. I know people who would never go to a movie alone. They find it embarrassing or pathetic. I find it relaxing. Since meeting @luckyjon I haven’t been to a solitary birthday movie. Every now and then though, I do go see a movie by myself.

I saw Before Sunset alone and basked in the heartwarming romance of reconnected love. The added bonus was Hawke and Delpy being involved in the screenplay, writing the characters they know and play so well. This time around we were in Paris. It was beautiful. Years later while I was living in England, my mom came to visit and we went to Paris for the weekend. I dragged her all over the place. We went to Shakespeare & Company – the bookstore in the film – and walked along the promenade which was just as beautiful as in the movie. I do this a lot. If I’m in a city where a movie I like was shot, I scoped out my locations in advance and make sure to check them out. I’m dying to spend a few days in Chicago!

I loved that the second film was 9 years later, and despite what happened in their lives, they were able to pick up where they left off. And the ending! Just as ambiguous as the first film, leaving it up to the audience to decide what happens. Love it. I’m such a sap.

How can I call this my favourite trilogy if I haven’t seen the third film yet? Because I have faith.

The trailer alone makes my heart swell with happiness and warmth.

So this week, I’m pulling a marathon. Currently watching Before Sunrise as type – alone, I might add. @luckyjon is in the living room shooting zombies. After some pre-production and filming this weekend, I will pop in Before Sunset, and later in the week I will take myself to see Before Midnight. Just me, some popcorn and some old friends. Looking forward to it!

4 Responses to “My Favourite Trilogy… and it’s not Star Wars.”

  1. Natasha Harmer June 16, 2013 at 2:44 am #

    great post 🙂 I’ve been meaning to watch these for a while, will have to check them out…the new one looks good 😀

    • onelittlepetal June 16, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

      Thanks! You definitely should pull a marathon. I’d love to hear what you think. The first one still holds up after all these years.

  2. The Vern June 21, 2013 at 7:12 am #

    I am not a fan of romantic movies and I really love these movies. Before Midnight is just as good as the other two. If your a fan of these movies. You will love it. It ends perfectly.

    • onelittlepetal August 12, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

      FINALLY saw the final film. One more thing I’ve been meaning to post about. It was amazing. And you’re right. It ended perfectly. I thought in my head, “I want this to end right now” and the credits rolled. Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

Anaïsa Visser

Chronicles of my transient existence...

Let's Go To The Movies

I spend a lot of time at either the cinema or theatre. You will then find reviews from these films and shows!

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

The Big Galoot

with a wink & a smile

Ian Herman

Video Production | Content Marketing

Joslin Chan

Illustrator. Mad gene splicer.

CINEPHILE IN DECLINE

Re-capturing a Love of Cinema

Lonely Eskimo Films

We're just a team of friends that want to show the world how creative we can be :)

The Good, the Bad and the Average

Film reviews, news and features

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Fogs' Movie Reviews

Kid, the next time I say, "Let's go someplace like Bolivia," let's GO someplace like Bolivia.

VIC'S MOVIE DEN

"Slow ahead. I'll slow ahead. Come on down and chum some of this shit!"

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

